RSS

What Happened to Halo?

20 Apr

With the release of Halo: Reach last year the series is finally coming to a close. Well, I should say that the series as imagined by Bungie is coming to a close. Microsoft has opened a branch called 343 Industries to oversee the Halo name post-Bungie. But, the future is unclear for the Master Chief, the Arbiter, and the rest of those lovable grunts. It has been rumored that Gearbox is the next in line for a Halo release but as of this writing it is all speculation.

The point…

… I’m getting to it. Halo has changed so much over the past 4 games. From LAN parties to clan matches to forge and then to armor abilities this series has seen it all. The heart of the game is there, somewhere. This newest release, Reach, really marked for me the fall of Halo. Halo 3 was not what I expected it to be by a long shot, especially coming off of Halo 2 which was pretty much spot on in terms of fun and competitiveness.

Every title after Halo 2 has felt more sluggish, with a lesser learning curve, and a larger margin for error. This is a good business strategy, it will allow more new players to instantly pick up a Halo game and generally do well assuming they have thumbs and don’t get motion sick from watching a television. But as a fan of competitive gaming these decisions don’t make sense.

Just not fun.

I had not played Reach since December or so and decided to pop it in yesterday. I dusted off the case and put the disc in… I was actually pretty excited. But that was before the first game. Coming off of Call of Duty this game feels like child’s play.

I know that the game-play is supposed to be more team oriented but having a 1v1 fight is just awful in Reach. The way damage is handled combined with shields, combined with the weaponry available (or lack-thereof) and it takes too damn long to score a kill.

I gave it about an hour or so, just so I could be sure that I wasn’t being too quick to judge. But this game is a far cry from the fast paced shooter that was Halo 2… it isn’t even comparable to Halo 3 which was fun but definitely wasn’t up to par with Halo 2.

I don’t know how they did it but they have killed my favorite game franchise. I am now a COD man, sad to say. Bring on some Battlefield, bring on some Gears, even bring on the next COD because I probably won’t be looking for the next Halo.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2011 in Console, FPS

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “What Happened to Halo?

  1. Blix

    April 21, 2011 at 2:20 am

    Oh man a first person shooter player? ha!

     
    • banginnleavin

      April 21, 2011 at 10:18 am

      Yeah. Though I do love me some RPG. My current games are Fallout New Vegas and Black Ops, lemme know if you want to play some Blops and Ill post my xbox gamertag.

       
  2. Blix

    April 21, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    i’m not much of a shooters :/
    i suck too ha!

     
  3. Magic eye

    March 31, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Let me start by saying what a great piece you wrote, i’v been searching for someone with the exact same opinion on the matter of what a let down Halo is in comparison to other games out there (my favourite being Battlefield 3), thousands of us feel the same way i am sure , i’ts just they dont have the time to leave their present favourite games and take a walk down memory lane and write their thoughts/feelings about Halo in a blog..!

    I honestly dont remember the last time i even thought of playing Halo!
    I have every single Halo game (except the anniversary ) and was addicted until my eyes were opened to the feel of real 1v1 battle in other games.

    But i must admit that the sons of guns have got me nostalgic now just remembering the great old days with the game play and the Halo sound tracks …i miss my grunts too. i feel slightly let down by the franchise although Halo 4 is not too far away for possible redemption, i think i speak for Halo Nation when i say we’re all looking forward to it.

     
  4. banginnleavin

    April 8, 2012 at 11:17 am

    Thanks Magic, and we are definitely in the same boat. I have since gotten rid of my H3 and H:R discs but the thought of forge in Halo 4 kind of gets my hyped.

     

Leave a Reply

 
